top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ.C. Mullinax

The Three Phases Of A Christians Calling


The Three Phases Of A Christians Calling 


As I look back at my calling to ministry 21 years ago, I now see some of that plan God had for me. I didn't know then what I know now but I have a better picture thanks to scripture. My prayer is that by the end of this devotional, you will see God's plan for your life. My question has always been "Did God know what he was doing when He called me" or "Has God re-thought His decision when I made my first big blunder" like Peter did. I'm sure we all have had these thoughts from time to time. I can safely say No... He has not!


When I got saved 21 years ago I was like a souped up Lamberginie and nowhere to race. All I knew was that I wanted to share to the world that I got saved and they can get saved and go to heaven. What I didn't know that there was their was a process ordained by God. So, how did I get to that point where I could minister and be effective at it. Let's look and see as we read through scripture we can see God's plan is set into motion through the calling and training of the 12 Disciples.


Our calling has three distinct phases. Phase one is our call to salvation. In the gospel of John 1:35-51 we see Andrew, John, Peter, Phillips and Nathaniels call to conversion. Jesus called all 5 out by name and all 5 surrendered their life over to Jesus.


Phase two is our call to discipleship. After we are saved, God has a plan to utilize us if we make ourselves available. We see this in (Luke 5:10). Peter's calling was to be a child of God first, then an evangelist second. God wants to teach and prepare us for our upcoming ministry.


We see an example of this also in (Luke 5). Peter and the other disciples' first training session came while they were still on the job supporting their family. They had been fishing all night and were tired of not having any luck that night. Jesus instructed Peter to go out into the deep waters and cast out his net. Peter questions Jesus and finally surrenders and does what Jesus told him to do. By Peter's amazement they caught more fish than they could handle.


I remember being overwhelmed and unprepared to minister as Peter and the other disciples saw that they were to. 


Do you remember your first call to draw closer to God through discipleship? 


Were you overwhelmed? 


Was discipleship difficult for you?


How did you become Discipled?


I sure was. I remember the calling then trying to minister in the flesh and finding out I was not prepared as much as I thought I was. God then placed people in my life to take me down that o so familiar discipleship path. That path of discipleship lasted for many years before I felt that God was ready for me to minister. Just remember our sanctification process never ends until we take your last breath here on earth.


Phase three is our call to ministry . We are prepared then sent to minister to the world (Luke 6:12-16). The good news is we are not alone in this venture. He is always there and promise's us that He will never leave us or forsake us (Deuteronomy 31:8). When God sent them out in twos it was just for a evangelistic season and then they would come back to Him for teaching, ministry, fellowship and rest (Mark 6:30-34). 


The amazing thing about this phase is that it's never ending and God is always there to replenish us through His Word and prayer.


What phase are you In?


 Do you often feel that you are in a rut?


 No matter what phase you're at, just know that God has a plan and he will always see you throughout that plan. Draw nigh to Him and He will draw nigh to you (James 4:8).


God bless

JC Mullinx


Website: BNC Ministries 


Facebook:

Truckers4Jesus&God4Truckers

West Coast Truckers For Christ

Aarons Creek Baptist Church

18 views0 comments

Коментарі


bottom of page